To book or get prices click on your start date on the calendar.

  • Booked
  • Available
  • Start Date

4.6 out of 5


100% of guests recommend
Based on 19 guest reviews


Dornoch & Sutherland

Sit in the back garden of Sunnybank with glimpses of the first tee at Royal Dornoch Golf Club which is less than 50 metres away.

This modern quality holiday home offers self-catering accommodation in Dornoch for up to 5 guests in 3 bedrooms.

Sunnybank is a newly refurbished, comfortable Highlands cottage, ideally located overlooking the Royal Dornoch golf course and only a very short walk from the beach and town centre.

Main Features

  • ✔ WiFi
  • ✔ Parking
  • ✔ Garden/Patio
  • ✔ All rooms downstairs
  • ✔ Town & city
  • ✔ Restaurant within 1 mile
  • ✔ Shop within 1 mile
  • ✔ Pub within 1 mile
  • ✔ 3 bedroom

First listed date: 22/09/2011

All rooms are on the same floor 

Lounge – 2 sofas, armchair, bookcase, TV, DVD player, tourist information, books and games, nest of tables.

Dining room – table, 6 chairs, console table.

Kitchen – electric cooker and oven, fridge/freezer, kettle, toaster, coffee maker, pots and pans, utensils, microwave, breakfast table for 4.

Utility room – dishwasher, washing machine, tumble dryer. Dinnerware and cutlery.

Master bedroom – double bed, bedside tables, chest of drawers, built in wardrobe, en suite WC, washbasin and shower.

Bedroom 2 – twin or double – zip and link beds, bedside tables, chest of drawers, built in wardrobe.

Bedroom 3 – single bed – bedside table – chest of drawers.

Family bathroom – electric shower, WC, bath, washbasin, heated towel rail.

Front vestibule: fitted wardrobe with lockable cabinet.

Garden: Enclosed garden with grass and patio with table and chairs, outside clothes airer, lawn.

Private off-street parking


All bed linen, towels and electricity is included in the price.

Stocked with a starter supply of washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, toilet rolls, and other kitchen and bathroom supplies.

There are a number of restaurants, bars and shops in Dornoch.

Food shops: There is a Co-op and a convenience store in Dornoch. The Co-op is usually open until 10pm. Tesco, Asda and Lidl supermarkets are in Tain which is a few miles south of Dornoch.

Restaurants: Luigi’s on Castle Street, Sutherland House, Links House, The Eagle Hotel, a few others also.

Pubs: The Dornoch Inn, The Eagle Hotel, Castle Whisky Bar & Bistro, a few others.

Takeaway food: Chinese, Indian, Harry Gow bakers.

Sorry no dogs.

Cancellation policy – 30% of the total rental is charged on the day of booking to confirm your booking with the final 70% due no later than 6 weeks before arrival. There is a 24-hour cooling off period after your booking is placed where you may cancel free of charge after that you will be required to pay the full rental amount if you cancel.

Cancellation protection policy is available during booking or before the final balance payment is made.

Security deposit: an amount of £100 will be pre-authorised against the card you pay your final balance 10 days prior to arrival. This will reduce your available balance on your card by £100 for 30 days.

Rate table shows the base weekly rental rates only when the property is only available for weekly bookings. Short breaks may be available and are not shown below. To check available bookable dates and the rate choose the start date on the calendar at the top of the page then the number of available nights.

Rates do not include additional booking fee of £24 or £28 where applicable. Seasonal offers are available at times where no or a reduced booking fee applies.

For weekly bookings discounts are available at certain times and are not shown in the rate table. To check prices choose the start date on the calendar at the top of the page then the number of available nights.

Date Range Week Rate
5 Jan - 5 Apr 2019 £435.00
6 Apr - 26 Apr 2019 £550.00
27 Apr - 31 May 2019 £495.00
1 Jun - 28 Jun 2019 £595.00
29 Jun - 26 Jul 2019 £695.00
27 Jul - 30 Aug 2019 £725.00
31 Aug - 27 Sep 2019 £645.00
28 Sep - 25 Oct 2019 £525.00
26 Oct - 18 Dec 2019 £435.00
19 Dec - 27 Dec 2019 £625.00
28 Dec 2019 - 3 Jan 2020 £750.00
Trustworthy reviews from genuine guests
UpFront Reviews
  • Homely holiday in great location
    4 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 09/07/2018 by Guest from Glasgow

    Sunnybank is in a great location just round the corner from the village centre. Also only a few minutes walk from the beach and in a lovely quiet spot. The house has everything you could need including cooking and cleaning essentials which makes it a real home from home. The house has been modernised and newly furnished but some fittings are still a bit dated. Don’t let that put you off though, it’s a great place for a holiday.

  • Enjoyable stay.
    4.2 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 16/04/2018 by Guest from Menstrie

    First impression was not good, front door and door step very dirty and door mat was completely full of moss.(it was a rubber doormat with holes in it.) I washed step and cleaned mat to save bringing moss into house. Once past vestibule things got better.The house was furnished well with matching furniture throughout and certainly looked clean.Bedrooms were clean as was bed linen. The kitchen had everything thing you needed and had a 50/50 fridge freezer which was very handy. There was plenty of games to keep granddaughter amused in the evening and large fully enclosed back garden to play in. House was close to beach which was good and only a few minutes walk to shops and eating places. My only gripe would be there was nothing to tell you when central heating came on, only instructions how to adjust heating but it would only adjust when the heating kicked in, so a couple of days the house we felt was really cold. I understand that the electric is included and they do not want people to have the heating on constantly , but in April the weather can be very cold.

    Owner of Sunnybank Reply on 31/05/2018
    Thank you so much for your very thorough review. We do not understand your feedback about the heating as it is on constantly (there is no timer) and all guests have to do, is to turn the thermostat up to their desired temperature. The system is a very modern and straightforward air source heat pump system, installed as recently as December 2016. A quick phone call to the housekeepers would probably have cleared up any confusion. We were pleased to read that you found the inside of the cottage as well as the garden to your liking.

  • October delight
    4.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 03/11/2017 by Mark from Glasgow

    It was my first time using Gael Holiday Homes. Everything workout perfectly, from arranging to the property itself. I will happily use this company and accommodation again.

  • Sunnybank cottage.
    4.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 24/07/2017 by Thomas from Dundee

    Our stay at Sunnybank was excellent. The cottage has everything you need and is in a tremendous location just yards from Royal Dornoch golf course and less than 10 minutes walk to the beach. Would definitely go back again!!! Booking with Gael Holiday Homes was a pleasure!

  • Dornoch holiday
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 03/07/2017 by Lesley from Glasgow

    A spacious bungalow in excellent condition with all the amenities you need. The location of the bungalow was a short walk to the beach and the town. A great place to go on holiday.

  • Great stay
    4.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 16/11/2016 by Vanessa from Weston-super-mare

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Sunnybank. The bungalow took a while to warm up but was fine once it did. All wants were catered for and it was very convenient for walking to Dornoch and the beach etc. Would recommend Sunnybank as a great place to stay.

    The owner Reply on 14/12/2016
    Thank you very much for your review. The heating system has now been updated and the night storage heaters have gone. Sunnybank now has central heating.

  • Fine - but........
    4.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 13/11/2016 by Harry from Edinburgh

    Disappointing that on arrival the beds were not made up and there were no towels. This was rectified by phoning your office for instructions to gain acccess to the linen cupboard.

    The Owner Reply on 14/12/2016
    We were very sorry to read that the beds were not made when you arrived. We asked Gael Holiday Homes to send you a message to apologise and we hope you received it. We have also been in touch with the cleaning agency to make sure that this does not happen again. Please accept our apologies.

  • We had three lovely nights at Sunnybank
    4.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 26/10/2016 by Maureen from Normanton

    Very comfortable everything you could possibly need, ideal position for Golf Beach and Town centre would be happy to stay there again.

  • Wonderful place!
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 17/10/2016 by Ralph from Bonners Ferry

    Stayed at Sunnybank for 5 days in October 2016 on a golf trip to the Highlands. It was the perfect place as it was only 100 yards to the clubhouse of Royal Dornoch Golf Course and also a short drive to Brora and Golspie where we also played golf. Also, it was only a 2 minute walk to the magical Dornoch village center, Castle, and Cathedral. Sunnybank was exactly as pictured in the photos and very comfortable as well. Had a great collection of golf and whisky books to enjoy while relaxing after our golf rounds. Would absolutely stay there again next time we go to Dornoch!

  • good location, clean, nifty!
    4.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 20/07/2016 by Sara from Vero Beach

    love the location! sparse furnishings, immaculately clean and peaceful. Internet was spotty for first time in 3 years of renting Sunnybank. had to reboot router several times a day. well appointed kitchen. lovely home for a golf holiday!

    the owner Reply on 14/12/2016
    Thank you for your review. As far as the Internet problems are concerned, the issue was with the regional server, not with the internet provision at the property. We are very sorry this happened and hope that BT have solved the problem in order for this not to happen in future.

  • Any closer we would have been sleeping on the first Tee
    4.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 28/06/2016 by Neil from Aberdeen

    We have just returned from a week of relaxing in Dornoch. This is the cottage for any golf enthusiasts as its literally next door the club house. The cottage has absolutely everything you need to have a great holiday. Cupboards are fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. Instructions are there for everything from the washing machine to the best place for a take-away curry. Lovely back garden to relax in and to peer over the wall and watch the bowlers. Only negative (and I am nit-picking) We had our bikes with us and there is no access to the garage to store them (or golf clubs) might be an idea to add a wee shed. Otherwise, lovely and highly recommended One of my highlights was a fine dining experience in Links House which is directly across the road - heaven!

  • convenient place
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 27/06/2016 by Ted from Juno Beach

    This place has everything we are looking for with a great location. Hope to stay there again. totally enjoyable. Because this review needs to be longer- blah, blah, blah, blah, blah blah, blah, blah

  • nice cottage
    3.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 27/07/2015 by Guest from east kilbride

    real home from home,cozy and comfortable,everything you need is here,just what we needed for a much relaxing holiday,right next to golf course if thats your thing and short walk to town centre where you will find most things.

  • 9 days in Sunnybank
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 24/06/2015 by Guest from Juno Beach

    We loved it and it was perfect. Just what we wanted and when we get dates for next year we will book again. Only issue is that the en suite shower, you could not adjust the temp. Went from scalding to freezing and no in between. Other shower was fine. Thanks Ted Highberger

  • Dornoch
    3.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 16/04/2015 by Guest from Glasgow

    Good size family house in excellent location. Very comfy and welcoming. The week's holiday was great (helped by some fantastic spring weather. Negatives would be poor showers and small towels.

  • Excellent - homely
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 21/09/2014 by Guest from Hartlepool

    Excellent location, 5 minutes walk to the village centre, 100yds to the excellent Royal Dornoch Golf Club. Although the tracks to the golf club car parks ran on either side of the property, shielded by on the one side with a fence, overlooking the bowling green, & the other a hedge, it was still very very quiet. Unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to sit on the patio & use the garden. Very well appointed & comfortable beds. The laminate flooring in the bedroom corridor allowed some sound to travel to the bedrooms. Throughly enjoyed staying in the homely property.

  • Wonderful stay.
    4.5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 11/08/2014 by Guest from St Albans

    A very well equipped, modern house with a child friendly garden. We thoroughly enjoyed staying here and the location was perfect for us.A well resourced kitchen and utility room and plenty of space.everything you need for a holiday. If I was asked how to improve it? I would say some storage in the second bedroom, possibly blackout blinds in the bedrooms (to cope with such short summer nights) and access to an optional clean/linen change during a two week stay. The above sounds quite nit picky and it is, but apart from that it's perfect! So much so that we have already booked for next year!

  • A Must
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 19/05/2014 by Guest from Glasgow

    Superb,what you see on the web site is what you get. Location to golf cousre and the centre of the town was ideal. A real home from home absolutely spotless and everything you could possibly need is in the house.Standard of furniture etc was first class. Overall 10/10. We will definitely be back and would certainly recommend.

  • All round excellence!
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 04/10/2013 by Guest from Edinburgh

    We found the house very clean, comfortable and well equipped. It's situation was ideal, especially for golfers and all in all we have no complaints at all and would not hesitate to recommend it to others.

    Gael Holiday Homes Reply on 31/10/2013
    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for your kind comments. Sunnybank is indeed in a great loaction, when we visited we could see the golfers teeing off at the first tee of the Royal Dornoch Golf course from the back garden! We hope you can visit again sometime soon.


On Golf Road, only 100 metres from the Royal Dornoch Golf Clubhouse and a couple of minutes walk to the town centre or Dornoch beach.

You may also like


Sleeps 4

Bird’s Eye View

Dornoch & Sutherland

WiFi Dog Friendly

Sleeps 4

Oran Mor

Dornoch & Sutherland


Sleeps 6

Maus Steading

Dornoch & Sutherland

Keep up to date with offers

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Instagram

Site encrypted by 128 bit SSL. SSL creates an encrypted link between a web server and a web browser to ensure security.
Company Registration SC412209

* *

2018 Gael Property Care Ltd

T: 01349 800153|

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.