To book or get prices click on your start date on the calendar.

  • Booked
  • Available
  • Start Date

4.5 out of 5


93% of guests recommend
Based on 60 guest reviews

Carn Eilrig

Aviemore area

Carn Eilrig is part of Croftside Lodges in Aviemore. Just a 15 minute walk from the town centre. Open all year for bookings from 3 nights upwards.

Scandinavian style self-catering log cabin sleeping up to 6 guests is situated in the heart of the Cairngorm National Park in Aviemore and has been furnished to a high standard. The cabin is equipped with everything you could need for your self-catering stay.

Main Features

  • ✔ WiFi
  • ✔ Parking
  • ✔ Garden/Patio
  • ✔ Dog friendly
  • ✔ Short breaks available
  • ✔ All rooms downstairs
  • ✔ Town & city
  • ✔ Restaurant within 1 mile
  • ✔ Shop within 1 mile
  • ✔ Pub within 1 mile
  • ✔ 3 bedroom

First listed date: 22/04/2009

Kitchen/ Lounge area/ Diner:  The fully fitted modern kitchen contains numerous appliances including ceramic hob, oven, microwave & dishwasher, and all kitchen utensils and crockery you will require. The dining area seats 6, and the living area has two large settees, a flat panel TV

Master bedroom:  Double bed with bedside cabinets, a chest of drawers, and an en suite shower room.

Bedroom 2:  Twin beds with bedside cabinets and a chest of drawers.

Bedroom 3:  Twin beds with bedside cabinets and a chest of drawers.

Family bathroom:  Bath with overhead shower, wash hand basin and wc.

Utility Room:  Washing machine and drier, and an area for drying outdoor clothing.

Outside:  Covered decking area, accessible via patio doors from the lounge.

All bed linen, towels, electricity, Wi-Fi and private parking are included in the price.

Restaurants & Pubs: various in Aviemore – around a 10 minute walk or 2 minute drive.

Food shops: There is a Tesco supermarket on the main street. Tesco will home deliver.

Shops: Various shops in the Myrtlefield shopping centre and on the main street.

Banks: RBS on the main street

Railway Station: on the main street. Direct connections to the north and south.

Gael favourite activities:

Landmark Forest Adventure Park

Cairngorm Reindeer Herd

Strathspey Steam Railway

Aviemore Kart Raceway

Gael favourite Restaurants:

La Taverna – Italian cuisine

The Old Bridge Inn – Gastropub

Entry details: arrival time is anytime after 4pm, latest departure time is 10am.

Travel cot and high chair are available on request at an additional charge .

There is an additional charge for dogs. Maximum of 2 dogs allowed.

Additional fees for extras can be viewed on the online booking form.

Cancellation policy – 30% of the total rental is charged on the day of booking to confirm your booking with the final 70% due no later than 6 weeks before arrival. There is a 24-hour cooling off period after your booking is placed where you may cancel free of charge after that you will be required to pay the full rental amount if you cancel.

Cancellation protection policy is available during booking or before the final balance payment is made.

Security deposit: an amount of £100 will be pre-authorised against the card you pay your final balance 10 days prior to arrival. This will reduce your available balance on your card by £100 for 30 days.

Rate table shows the base weekly rental rates only when the property is only available for weekly bookings. Short breaks may be available and are not shown below. To check available bookable dates and the rate choose the start date on the calendar at the top of the page then the number of available nights.

Rates do not include additional booking fee of £24 or £28 where applicable. Seasonal offers are available at times where no or a reduced booking fee applies.

For weekly bookings discounts are available at certain times and are not shown in the rate table. To check prices choose the start date on the calendar at the top of the page then the number of available nights.

Trustworthy reviews from genuine guests
UpFront Reviews
  • Great, but few things not as per description.
    3.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 30/10/2017 by Guest from Ellon

    The house is clean, warm and overall great. However the sofas are well worn and require replacing, the utility room is an airing cupboard with nowhere to actually hang outdoor clothes to dry, and there is not a separate washing machine and dryer - just a washer/dryer.

  • Fabulous property
    4.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 28/07/2017 by Guest from Larbert

    Stayed three times, and would stay again. Brilliant base for exploring the Highlands. Property has everythi g you could need.

  • Lovely stay in beautiful lodge
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 03/06/2017 by Lynne from Lytham St. Annes

    Stayed here for 6 days and was pleasantly surprised with the accommodation. Location is fantastic, view from balcony is amazing! Inside was everything that was needed for the stay and all in good order. Beds were very comfy and the added bonus of 2 bathrooms worked out well with older children. Definitely recommend and would use again if returned.

  • Great family Easter
    4.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 20/04/2017 by Jacob from Dumfries

    The chalet exceeded all expectations; it is much better than it seemed on the pictures, which is rare. It had everything we needed, and more. The deck was excellent for stargazing on clear nights; there was little ambient light which was wonderful.

  • Perfect for a group of people getting weird.
    4.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 01/03/2017 by William from Aberdeen

    Perfect place to stay for a weekend break snowboarding or doing any activities in the aviemore area. A little bit of a walk from aviemore centre (approximately 10minutes) but not an issue. Comfy beds and very spacious.

  • Aviemore holiday
    4.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 09/01/2017 by Carolyn from Aberdeen

    Beautiful house and enjoyed it very much. Walking distance from town. Will definitely be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed guy fawlkes weekend
    3.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 09/11/2016 by Kerri from Kirkwall

    This loadge was great value for money and we all loved it. Although the couches in the living area could do with better cushions (very flat and uncomfortable) Main double bed - squeaks and creeks every time you move. We requested a travel cot - which we had to pay £10 extra for - it was broken when we put it together! Luckily we improvised for the weekend! If these were changed we'd definitely stay again!

    Gael Holiday Homes Reply on 14/11/2016
    Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry you experienced a few issues during your stay and have passed your comments to the owners of the lodge. We do provide contact details for housekeeping for all guests on all bookings should they require assistance during a stay. From discussing the broken travel cot they were unaware that it was broken and would have been happy to drop another in to you during your stay. We are glad this didn’t inconvenience you too much and detract from your enjoyment of the lodge and have since refunded you for this cost. We do hope you choose to stay again sometime soon, if you do please get in touch before booking so we can add a little surprise.

  • Family holiday - 3 adults 2 children
    4 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 31/10/2016 by Julie from South Queensferry

    In a great location just on the outskirts of Aviemore. It is a lovely, spacious, cosy chalet and everything was really good apart from issues with the hot water and the Wi-Fi. We raised these issues at the time and someone did come around but there still was not enough hot water to accommodate us and the Wi-Fi was so slow it was practically non existent. We did however enjoy our stay.

  • Short stay
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 03/10/2016 by Thomas R from Motherwell

    We stayed for 3 nights in September 2016. The lodge is fully furnished with everything you would need. The lodge was clean and well maintained. Very comfortable and spacious. The lodge is situated within a 3 minute drive in to the centre of Aviemore. I would certainly recommend this property to others and I plan on booking it again in the near future.

  • good base for exploring, clean and comfortable.
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 03/10/2016 by Joan from Dundee

    Really enjoyed our stay, the accommodation is really welcoming from the minute you walk in the door. Kitchen facilities are good with plenty of dishes etc. Only suggestion would be to perhaps provide a little salt and pepper as this us usually what's forgotten! Would happily stay again, thanks.

  • Aviemore stay.
    4 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 23/08/2016 by Barbara from York

    Very warm comfortable place to stay. Trees slightly blocked the great view of the cairngorms. Unfortunately the wifi in the chalet was very poor sadly otherwise spot on!

  • Carn Eilrig review
    4.5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 11/08/2016 by Robbie from Keith

    The lodge has everything required for a comfortable stay in one of the best holidays destinations in Scotland. Its well appointed with cooker, dishwasher and washer/dryer and easily accommodates six people. Highly recommended.

  • Family holiday
    4.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 03/08/2016 by Christine from Oban

    Stayed for a week would loved to have stayed longer. Lovely spacious lodge our 2 grandchildren and 2 dogs had lots of room. Comfortable rooms and everything you need is there for you. Great location will definitely return.

  • Weeks family holiday
    3.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 25/07/2016 by Wendy from Wick

    A lovely place to stay. Quiet location. Plenty of room for the whole family. Within walking distance of the main street. Views of the mountains and trees.

  • Highly recommended
    4.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 30/06/2016 by Katy from Bexley

    We stayed here for Christmas some years ago and had a great time, glad to say our return trip didn't disappoint. The property is spacious and well equipped with a surprisingly comfy bed! It is well maintained, has good views and an excellent location, peaceful but close enough to the amenities to be able to stroll to the shops without having to drive. It was an excellent base for all Aviemore and the surrounding area has to offer, we did many different walks and things but the green loch, Cairn Gorm and afternoon tea on the Strathspey Railway are all recommended. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to return again.

  • Nice comfortable bungalow.
    4 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 10/06/2016 by Guest from Bristol

    This is a well-designed open plan bungalow in a new estate in Aviemore. The house itself is nice. Everything worked well though there is no soundproofing from bedroom to bedroom and the blinds were inadequate for the short summer nights.

  • Home away from home
    4.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 21/05/2016 by Peter from Offenburg

    Very comfy and Code lodge. The only thing we missed was a hairdryer...says i need to enter more Charakters.. Ok Now? Still Not enough characters. Must be 150 characters.. I'm not going to start counting....

  • Fantastic, clean and modern accommodation
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 17/04/2016 by Guest from Glasgow

    Third time staying here. Accommodation always clean, warm and welcoming. Very modern. Located at edge of town, perfect for quick access to walks. Wifi is much improved from previous years but still very hit or miss especially in the evenings.

  • First CLass
    4.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 16/04/2016 by Janice from Wishaw

    Very impressed with this property. Very spacious and well equipped. Cleanliness to a high standard. Beds comfortable and good quality bedding and towels. Good location with view of Cairngorm from balcony. Would recommend this property.

  • Lovely Lodges
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 09/03/2016 by Polly from Banff

    Just spent an amazing weekend at this Lodge for my husbands 50th bday. Felt like we were in the French Alps in a cosy chalet! Comfort and facilities excellent. Would recommend

  • weekend break
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 16/02/2016 by Carolyn from Ashford

    Fantastic cottage very warm and cosy. Plenty of snow for snowboarding. Lovely places to eat beautiful scenery would recommended to anyone very nice...

  • Christmas break
    4.2 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 05/01/2016 by Marissa from Helensburgh

    Everything was excellent apart for the painfully slow wifi which should probably be described as no wifi so as to not get your hopes up. The place was decorated lovely the heating was easy to work and quick to melt us after being in the snow. The rooms were perfect for each couple. However not sound proof between rooms. The fridge did not seem to get cold enough for keeping our food which for self catering accommodation is a necessity.

  • Nice cottage but horrible checkin experience
    3.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 29/12/2015 by Martin from Amstelveen

    They charged our our credit card 6 weeks ahead of stay, for the full amount, but when we arrived the cottage was dark, driveway icy and nobody waiting for us. We fell down several times struggling to get our luggage out of the car and make it to the cottage through the icy slope. Only to find out we haven't had the code to the key and the agency not picking up the phone. We asked knocked on the doors of neighbors, called who were great and promised to relocate us, and fully refund, if the agency does not respond within 30min. But they did respond just in the limit. They came to salt the walkway the next morning so it was safer then for our 4 year old. To be fair the cottage is very nice, it is just the service that drags the value for money down.

    Gael Holiday Homes Reply on 29/12/2015
    Thank you for your comments. We list our properties on a number of websites including We do ensure that the information we show details the payment policy along with information on where to collect the key and the housekeepers contact details should they be required as there is no reception facility. We are sorry that you didn’t pick this information up before and when you booked or in the emails and text messages we sent prior to your arrival, also have entry information so could have helped. We have since checked with them and they had copies of the emails we had sent to you prior to your arrival. Although our booking office was closed when you arrived we do monitor messages and we are glad we were able to speak to you at the time to help you gain entry – on speaking with you did have the details of how to open the key-safe at the front door however you were at the wrong property. We will contact the owners and local housekeepers regarding the icy condition of the driveway to see if they can increase the frequency of salting during the winter months. We are very grateful for your feedback and are pleased that despite the frustrating start you enjoyed your stay in Aviemore and in the lodge.

  • Aviemore Lodge
    4.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 08/12/2015 by Grant from Glasgow

    Great few days will for sure be back. To bad we just missed the snow. Lodge was fab and clean. Have a good few days and really enjoyed it. Will be booking again for next year but later on so we are guaranteed the snow. thanks

  • Carn elrig chalet
    4.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 14/10/2015 by Mae from Forres

    Took two of my grandchildren to chalet with me, excellent base for exploring around Aviemore. plenty to do and plenty room in chalet. weather was good which was a bonus. the chalet itself was very clean, spacious and warm.It had all that was needed for a short break . Only one small grumble was the lack of Internet connection. Certainly go again

  • A family short break
    4.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 12/10/2015 by Hazel Barbara from Thurso

    I booked the lodge as a surprise for my husbands 40th. And stayed for 3 nights (I originally thought that the price was quite expensive) On arrival, we opened the door to be welcomed by a very cosy feel. The owners had obviously put the heating on for our arrival. The lodge is absolutely stunning inside. And very spacious. Its decor is of a very high standard, and it is remarkably well equipped. We had our 2 year old with us and there was plenty of plastic cups, plates and bowls for him. The view was stunning from the veranda. Couldn't fault the place (although the wifi was very intermittent).

  • Carn Eilrig
    4.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 25/09/2015 by Jonathan from Wimbledon

    Really nice chalet and excellent condition, only issue that we would have liked to option of paying for and having some basic foodstuffs in the house for our arrival.

  • weekend break
    4.5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 25/09/2015 by Sandra from Aberdeen

    The lodge provided all we expected. Would definitely book again for a stay in Aviemore. .

  • Family Break
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 14/09/2015 by Lorraine from Carlisle

    This property was absolutely lovely, the location the views, the property itself and even the weather was glorious the week we were there so enjoyed sitting on the balcony for meals.

  • Very nice house but bit mean with disposables...
    4 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 25/08/2015 by Guest from Kinross

    We love Aviemore, first time in Carn Eilrig. Very comfortable and great location. They are a bit mean with disposables and I would I would say this let it down compared to other self catering we have used - (no tin foil, bin bags, kitchen roll etc and there are no games, toys, DVDs etc). The internet connection is not good - not sure if that is Aviemore or Carn Eilrig. Despite that we would use again as it is a lovely little house.

  • A very good place to stay for holidays
    4.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 24/08/2015 by Guest from Troyes

    We were very satisfied to be there for our holidays and we would recommend to rent Carn Eilrig. But we would like just to focus your attention about one little point: noises between rooms: there is not enough isolation so we could ear quite easily (for exemple beetween the lounge and the first room). Well done, and happy holidays to your next customers.

  • Aviemore Lodges
    4.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 07/08/2015 by Guest from Boadilla Del Monte

    Beatiful, confortable and very clean house with nice views of Aviemore mountains. Some details we missed: hair dryer, shower soap and coffee pot. However, it is an excellent place to stay and we would repeat and recommend.

  • Great holiday home
    4.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 13/07/2015 by Jamie from Buckie

    On arrival and going into the property it looked absolutely fantastic. We were really pleased with the facilities. There were a few problems with the wifi connection as the router kept going on and off and showers as the hot water ran out quite quickly. But on the whole we had a really lovely stay.

  • Caen Eilrig
    4.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 02/07/2015 by Charles from Edinburgh

    The stay in the cabin was first class Everything was to hand and it was only a short walk into Aviemore The only drawback was the lack of parking when both cabins were occupied

  • Great Aviemore holiday home
    4 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 09/06/2015 by Guest from Dundee

    I was very impressed with the customer service which was friendly and personable. On the day of arrival our front door key was missing and this was sorted out very quickly. The house has good views, is lovely inside, very comfortable, and has all necessary appliances and kitchenware. It is in a nice quiet area with an easy 1 mile walk into town. The prices are higher in Aviemore generally compared to surrounding area, which is why I've put value for money as OK, though there are very few cheaper places. I would definitely recommend this company, and this property, to friends.

  • Perfect stay
    4.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 31/05/2015 by Guest from Nottingham

    My friends and I recently stayed at the Lodge and were delighted with it. It was glorious, quiet, beautiful and comfortable. Well positioned to visit all that the Cairngorms has to offer. Only one grumble the sofas were a little uncomfortable but we didn't care. Thank you for a great holiday.

  • Weekend break
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 06/05/2015 by Christy from Monkton

    Excellent place for a relaxing weekend in the highlands. Quiet location. All activities easily accessed. Accommodation well appointed and very clean and comfortable. Would definitely return.

  • Excellent holiday lodge
    4.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 28/04/2015 by Debra from Aberdeen

    I would throughly recommend carn eilrig lodge for a break in Aviemore. The facilities were excellent and the cleanliness could not be faulted! The lodge was equipped with all that you would require for a holiday and the comfort you felt was extremely homely I would not hesitate to stay there again and would generally describe it as a home from home. Thank you

  • Weekend break at Carn Eilrig
    4.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 16/04/2015 by Guest from Shotts

    The lodge was very pleasing on the eye, it had fantastic surroundings and an enclosed decking area that allowed our dog to safely go outside whenever he wanted. There is plenty to do and see if you love outdoors. A weekend break wasn't long enough, definitely would go back. The accomodation is certainly what is advertised and more.

  • Lovely, modern and clean accommodation
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 11/04/2015 by Guest from Glasgow

    Stayed for 4 days over Easter. This was our second stay at this lodge (Stayed for 4 days last Otober). It is perfect accommodation for our family of 5 plus a dog. Modern, very clean and well looked after. Perfectly located for quick access to pleasant walks for the dog. Quiet location with a raised decked balcony which catches the sun all day round. Only slight grumble would be from the kids and the speed of Wi-fi in the evening (speed seems fine in the mornings and then we're generally out all day). Would definitely go back again.

  • Great lodge
    4.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 24/03/2015 by Guest from Stirling

    Great stay. Lovely lodge. Expected a little more remote location, however was very handy for Main Street. Only negative was getting a telling off for checking in early. No one was there and lodge was ready so we let ourselves in. We didn't think it would be an issue but the lady didn't seem amused. Other than that we did thoroughly enjoy our stay and would recommend.

  • Lovely little lodge
    4.5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 03/03/2015 by Libby from horley

    Had a great time at Carn Eilrig, lodge was nice and spacious and had everything you could need. It was quite cold when we arrived but by the morning had heated up so wasnt a problem! Thank you :)

  • Perfect
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 22/02/2015 by Paul from Fullbridge

    Great place to stay. We used this as a base camp to explore the local areas and have a play in the snow. The house was plenty of room and is well equipped. Great location with a easy 15 min walk to town. Will be returning next year.

  • Excellent family break in Aviemore
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 17/02/2015 by Guest from Dollar

    Clean, spacious comfort just minutes from Aviemore centre. Warm, exceptionally well furnished with all mod cons and plenty of space for a family stay - would definitely recommend.

  • Carn Eilrig review.
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 03/08/2014 by Robbie from Huntly

    This is the third time I've stayed in these lodges. They have everything required for a comfortable stay. They are clean, well maintained and good parking.

  • Lovely holiday stay.
    4.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 20/07/2014 by Guest from Inverurie

    We had a lovely stay at Carn Eilrig there was everything we could possibly require in the log cabin. Everything was nice and clean. The view was breathtaking with all the hills round us. We had a very good stay. The only thing was that the internet was not working all week. But it did not spoil our stay. We would definitely come again.

  • Fabulous cabin
    4.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 29/06/2014 by Guest from Edinburgh

    Fabulous modern wooden house approx. 1 mile from the centre of Aviemore. 3 good sized bedrooms (1 double en-suite and 2 twins); lovely big living/dining/kitchen area with doors on to lovely patio, with views to Cairngorms.

  • Short break, lodge and scenery were fabulous.
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 11/06/2014 by Guest from Aberdeen

    Yes we had a great time and plenty to see and do. There were 3 couples in our party, the only complaint we had was there were no mirrors in the twin rooms and lack of hanging space, but all in all these were minor points.

  • Lovely views
    4 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 01/06/2014 by Guest from Cupar

    Although the property is located on an estate,it is relatively private with lovely views of the Cairngorms. A cruet set,milk jug and sugar bowl would have been nice along with bigger bath towels and better quality loo paper. These are just minor faults with an overall comfortable property.

  • 2 night stay at carn eilrig
    4 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 27/05/2014 by Guest from Buckie

    We we're pleased with the price and the fact that a short stay was available rather that a full week. This gives this property the edge on others in aviemore which require a weeks full booking. We love aviemore and have stayed in many cottages and other places but we really enjoyed our stay at carn eilrig. It had everything we required for us two and our two wee girls (age 2 and 4). It was only a 15 minute walk into aviemore, even with our two slow coaches! The lodge style house itself was in good condition and the balcony area outside was nice to sit out on-only down point is the lodge next to us looked directly onto most of the balcony area and at night you are very close sleeping to where the other lodges balcony was and you can hear conversations that are going on, luckily for us the people who were staying at the other lodge were not partying all night otherwise it wouldn't have been enjoyable. The lodge I would imagine would be cold in winter time, there is only storage heaters on the wall which would struggle to heat the place in the coldest of months however saying that they did provide the heat we required when the weather changed in aviemore. Nice location with good views of the hills-trees to left of balcony obscure the view if the hills further unfortunately however seeing the sun set cast shadows over some of the hills was just magic. The kitchen has everything you would require. The rest of the rooms were in good condition and were perfect for what we required. The 2 bathrooms were nice with a good shower and a bath also. Spacious. There are only blinds in the bedrooms so at 5am if you have kids get ready for them waking you up! we managed early starts in the morning which was a bonus anyway so no complaints really. There is no garden space as such for kids however. Overall the property was very good and we would easily book again and recommend to others.

  • Great place to stay!
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 17/04/2014 by Guest from Buckie

    Just back from spending 4 days at the carn eilrig lodge with the family ( and dog). The lodge was excellent had everything we needed. Spotlessly clean with lovely surroundings . Next time we go back to aviemore we would definitely stay there again. The Campbell's, Buckie.

  • Week break with family.
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 11/04/2014 by Guest from Aberdeen

    We stayed at carn eilrig for a short break with family,we very much loved the stay the location was peace full and very quite which we like.The log cabin was very clean with plenty of space.we will defiantly book to stay again.

  • Lovely accommodation
    4.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 06/04/2014 by Catherine from Cupar

    The property was lovely - it had nice views, it was very clean, the decor was fresh and modern. It was an extremely comfortable base for our week in Aviemore.

  • good stay
    5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 25/03/2014 by Guest from Abergavenny

    good chalet with everything needed for our stay. Great location close to town but away from road noise. Very clean on arrival. Great holiday and may well return to this chalet if in the area.

  • Convenient cabin
    3.5 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 25/02/2014 by Guest from Macclesfield

    Although the property was generally satisfactory, we did have some concerns about the fridge, as the door did not close properly, meaning we could not keep much food in it. To be fair we have not mentioned this to the management company to give them the opportunity to rectify. As we had a dog with us I would also have appreciated a section in the information guide about dog walks, which are plentiful, though some are difficult to find initially.

  • Not what we expected
    3.2 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 18/02/2014 by Guest from Glasgow

    After previously staying at the Carn Eilrig we ruled out a number of cheaper options for accommodation as we thought we knew what we were to expect but it turns out we were wrong. The lodge was suitably clean apart from the fact there had clearly been an animal allowed to roam the accommodation prior to our visit leaving dog hairs in every possible location and with 1 of the people in our group being allergic to dogs this made for an uncomfortable stay. The heater in the living room, kitchen side did not work and the blinds were also broken looking like little or no maintenance had been carried out since our last stay. The purpose of our visit was to ski and we soon found out that if the ski resort was shut then the lodge had very limited facilities with no wifi being the major issue. After a disappointing stay and leaving the night before we were due to depart due to having an ill person due to the dog hair and no chance of skiing we thought our issues were over, we were wrong. Our deposit which we trustingly handed over at the beginning of our stay was deducted by

  • Fabby Aviemore
    3.7 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 02/12/2013 by Guest from Dalkeith

    Problems with fridge not closing properly, fridge was off when we arrived so had to mop up water from freezer, it then took ages for fridge to cool down and we had to jam it shut with a seat. 4 cereal bowls, one chipped so not enough for 6 people at breakfast. Lights in bathroom had to be changed as it was dark and you could barely see. Only one key left for us when there should have been two. Bed in main room was beyond creeky, even when fixed it still not great but comfy. Washing machine dryer but no clothes horse. We stayed next door in Gael Cham before and it was much better equipped (that was 2 years ago though) but why we booked to go back. The lodge is lovely though and we had another great stay. May want to check the dishwasher as sure that was also leaking. Other thing was when called out of hours number, nobody answered or called back.

    Gael Holiday Homes Reply on 16/12/2013
    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Glad you enjoyed your time in Aviemore, we were sorry to read that you didn't enjoy the lodge as much as when you visited previously. We have passed your comments to the owners and they have assured us that they will be looking into all of the items you mention. All going well most items are a quick fix however the bed may need a bit more thought. We do hope that we will see you again sometime soon.

  • Amazing
    4.8 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 28/10/2013 by Fraser from Glasgow

    We had an amazing stay for my 30th birthday . It was an excellent weekend . Would hire it again in a minute . Has an amazing view over the hills . ....

    Gael Holiday Homes Reply on 31/10/2013
    Thank you for your review. I am sure you will have happy memories of your birthday at Carn Eilrig. Hope you come back soon.

  • long weekend stay
    4.3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 23/10/2013 by Guest from Balmedie

    Cabin very comfortable and clean. Could have done with a bathroom blind in the en suite and a hairdryer but apart from that we had everything we needed. Nice extras would have been some books, games and DVDs perhaps. Great location very close to Aviemore - 10 mins walk to centre. Plenty of space for the dog, we kept her in her crate in the hall overnight, and great balcony for sitting out. All in all thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Gael Holiday Homes Reply on 31/10/2013
    Thankyou for taking the time to review Carn Eilrig. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and have passed on your suggestions to the owners. Hope you will come back to us for your next holiday.

  • review
    3 OUT OF 5
    Submitted on 07/10/2013 by Guest from Oban

    very disappointed with the location, we had not expected to be in a housing scheme. bed in double room extremely squeaky, cant roll over and the squeaks wake you up. No Wifi at

    Gael Holiday Homes Reply on 31/10/2013
    Thankyou for your review. We are sorry to hear your disappointment with Carn Eilrig. We have had many guests express their happiness at being within a ten minute walk of the centre of Aviemore. However, this said, we will definitely have a look at the wording on the website to see if we can clarify the description. Carn Eilrig isn't advertised as having wifi but it is something that the owners are considering installing. We have passed your comments regarding the bed on to the owners who I am sure will have a look into this.


Just a ten minute walk from the centre of Aviemore, you will find a wide range of shops, cafes, restaurants and leisure amenities nearby, including a swimming pool and cinema.

You may also like

WiFi Dog Friendly Hot Tub

Sleeps 6

Delmhor No1

Aviemore area

WiFi Dog Friendly

Sleeps 6

Gael Cham

Aviemore area

Keep up to date with offers

Facebook Twitter Pinterest Instagram

Site encrypted by 128 bit SSL. SSL creates an encrypted link between a web server and a web browser to ensure security.
Company Registration SC412209

* *

2018 Gael Property Care Ltd

T: 01349 800153|

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website.